top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePooja Shah

International Day Performance

Updated: Oct 31, 2020


 

CAS Learning Outcomes:


  1. Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

  2. Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

  3. Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively

 

Every year, there is an International Day held at Wells International School and every year there is an Indian performance without fail. During the performances, when Indian songs are played, I always feel like going up there to dance with the others. Last International Day, I decided to perform on an Indian song with my friends and we made a group and thinking of signing up for International Day performances, however, at the very last minute before the auditions we backed off. We were all nervous and scared to perform in front of the whole school. That year during International Day when other Indian performances were happening, I regretted backing out so bad. I told myself that the following year I will dance on an Indian song no matter what. I have always loved dancing as a kid. My parents would always make me attend dance classes where I would learn Bollywood dance as well as other forms but I was always nervous on the big day and to dance in front of a huge crowd. This year, the same group I had planned on dancing with last year decided that we will do an Indian performance. We were scared initially but we would always look back to our regret last year and continue. We were a group of 5 people and choreographed a 3.5-minute dance with 3 Indian popular upbeat songs. Choreographing the dance took around 2 weeks of practice and teamwork. I learned how to create a performance with a group and managing our time well. A minute before the performance we were freaking out but we all said, "Break a leg," and danced. After the dance, I can't explain or describe how happy and proud I was of myself. I was so happy that I grew as a person, from backing out to actually performing. I was so delighted I danced in front of the entire school, in front of around 300-400 people. We were all so proud of ourselves. The compliments from our friends, teachers, and parents were just the icing to our happiness. I am looking forward to dancing the following year, once more as it is going to be my final year.








84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yoga

Garba

bottom of page